University of Ottawa in Canada · Application cycle 2027/2028
University of Ottawa Admission Scholarships for International Undergraduates 2027/2028
Read in the glossary
About this scholarship
Automatic tuition reductions for new international bachelor's students at the University of Ottawa in Canada for 2027/2028. Students in English programmes get the International English Admission Scholarship, and students in French programmes get the Differential Tuition Fee Exemption Scholarship.
Funding type
English programmes: the International English Admission Scholarship gives CAD 7,500 per term for up to 12 terms, which is CAD 60,000 over a four-year degree. The International English Academic Excellence Scholarship adds CAD 10,000 once, CAD 5,000 per term, for 100 students. It can be held with the Admission Scholarship. French programmes and the French Immersion Stream: the Differential Tuition Fee Exemption Scholarship gives CAD 12,500 to 18,000 per term depending on the faculty and programme, for up to 12 terms. For example, it is CAD 18,000 in Engineering and CAD 16,000 at the Telfer School of Management. The awards are taken off your international tuition fees. They do not cover living costs.
- Tuition fees
- Partially covered
- Living costs
- Not covered
- Travel
- Not specified
- Insurance
- Not specified
Eligibility requirements
- Nationalities
- All nationalities
- Residence condition
- No residence condition
A new international student who pays international tuition fees. The page names no nationality limits. Canadian dual citizens are not eligible English Admission Scholarship: newly admitted to an approved English-language bachelor's programme in Arts, Engineering, Health Sciences, Science, Social Sciences or the Telfer School of Management, with an admission average of at least 80%, a valid study permit and full-time study, outside the French Immersion Stream Academic Excellence Scholarship: the same conditions with an admission average of at least 95%. The scholarships overview page says 90%, and the scholarship's own page says 95% Exemption scholarship: admission to a programme taught in French or to the French Immersion Stream, and full-time study with at least three French-taught courses (9 units) each term To keep the awards you must stay full time in an eligible programme. Co-op students do not receive the exemption scholarship in work terms
- Minimum grade
- Not stated
- Work experience asked for
- Not stated
- Return condition
- Return condition not stated
- How to apply
- With the admission application
Language requirements and exemptions
Language test required IELTS TOEFL iBT Duolingo English Test PTE Academic Cambridge English DELF or DALF TCF or TEF Other test Waiver possible
French programmes: if you did not study three years full time only in French in a country where French is official, you need DELF B2 with 16/25 in written production, DALF C1 or C2, TCF Tout Public or TCF DAP at B2, or TEF with five tests at B2. Study in countries such as Algeria, Tunisia, Djibouti and the Comoros can exempt you from the test. English programmes: a recognised English test is needed unless you studied three years full time only in English in a country where English is official. The scores are on the language requirements page. Tests must be taken less than two years before the start of the term.
University admission details
Admission included in application?University admissionA university’s offer of a place in a program. University admission and scholarship funding may be separate decisions.
Read in the glossary
There is no scholarship application. Eligible students get the awards automatically and are told at admission. Applications for fall 2027 opened on 17 September 2026. Deadlines vary by programme, but the university advises applying before 15 January 2027 and sending all documents and test results by 15 February 2027 or within 30 days of applying. For international applicants most programmes close in May, and a programme can close earlier once it is full. You apply on the OUAC form and pay the fee online.
Required documents
OUAC application The academic documents your programme asks for French or English test result if needed A valid study permit when you enrol
Application steps
Choose an eligible bachelor's programme in English or in French at the University of Ottawa. Apply on the OUAC form, if possible before 15 January 2027. Send your documents and test results by 15 February 2027 or within 30 days of applying. Accept your offer and pay the admission deposit, then apply for your study permit. The scholarship is taken off your fees when you enrol full time.
Requirement checklist
Application through OUAC Required
Apply for a bachelor's programme at the University of Ottawa on the OUAC form and pay the fee online. There is no scholarship application.
Admission average Conditional?Conditional offerAn offer that requires specified conditions, such as a language result or graduation document, before admission becomes final.
Read in the glossary
At least 80% for the English Admission Scholarship, and 95% for the Academic Excellence Scholarship.
Language test result Conditional?Conditional offerAn offer that requires specified conditions, such as a language result or graduation document, before admission becomes final.
Read in the glossary
If you did not study three years full time only in the language of the programme in a country where it is an official language.
Three French-taught courses each term Conditional?Conditional offerAn offer that requires specified conditions, such as a language result or graduation document, before admission becomes final.
Read in the glossary
A condition of the exemption scholarship in French programmes and the French Immersion Stream, with full-time study.
Study permit and full-time enrolment Required
The scholarship is taken off your fees when you enrol full time.
Scholarship contacts
InfoAdmission request form, undergraduate admissions: Contact form (opens in a new tab)
Financial Aid and Awards Service, scholarship questions: [email protected]
Universities and contacts
University of Ottawa
Canada
No official contact email published
Similar scholarships
Same funding type and level, from the same directory.
SFU International Undergraduate Scholars Entrance Scholarship 2027/2028
Differs: closes 2026-12-15, no university offer needed first, Straight to the provider
Vice-Chancellor's Undergraduate Scholarship
Differs: also in United Kingdom, no university offer needed first, Straight to the provider