Global Leadership Scholarship
Differs: also in United Kingdom, no university offer needed first, asks for 80%
The American University in Cairo, School of Science and Engineering · Application cycle 2027/2028
A fellowship for master's and PhD students in science and engineering who are nationals of Arab countries, at the School of Science and Engineering of the American University in Cairo. It covers full tuition with a stipend and health insurance.
Covers: tuition for up to nine credit hours a semester, a stipend, student services and activities fees, medical service and health insurance, a book allowance and bus transport fees. It lasts two years for the master's and three years for the PhD, and is reviewed every semester. The page does not state the amount of the stipend or how often it is paid. Housing and travel are not mentioned on this page. The general fellowships page says international fellows who study full-time may receive a housing allowance. Master's fellows work 12 hours a week on academic tasks, and PhD fellows 15 hours a week as teaching assistants.
A national of an Arab country. The page does not give a list of countries Admitted to a master's in science or engineering, or to the PhD, in the School of Science and Engineering For the master's: a bachelor's in science or engineering from an accredited university with a GPA of at least 3.2 out of 4.0 or equivalent, and a suitable research background For the PhD: a thesis-track master's in science or engineering from an accredited university Financial need is one of the conditions PhD fellows do full-time research with no outside job, and take part in fellowship activities
Language test required IELTS TOEFL iBT Cambridge English Waiver not mentioned
TOEFL iBT of at least 79 with 21 in writing, or Academic IELTS of at least 6.5 with 7 in writing, or the Cambridge Advanced or Proficiency exam. Some programmes ask for higher scores.
Required later?University admissionA university’s offer of a place in a program. University admission and scholarship funding may be separate decisions.
Read in the glossary
First apply for admission to the master's or PhD programme. It must be submitted at least two weeks before the fellowship deadline, and you do not have to wait for the admission decision. Admission deadlines for fall 2027: 15 December 2026 for early admission and 1 April 2027 for regular admission. Then submit the online fellowship application in Banner Self-Service. There are two cycles for fall 2027: 22 December 2026 to 17 January 2027, and 6 April to 6 May 2027. The time of day is not stated. The first date you can miss is 17 January 2027. The result date and the admission application fee are not stated on the pages. The page mentions research priority areas for the PhD but does not name them.
Graduate admission application with a statement of purpose, two recommendation letters and a CV Official transcript and proof of degree completion, and for the PhD the master's certificate, transcript and thesis abstract English test result For the PhD: a preliminary dissertation topic and a research outline Copy of your passport and a passport-size photo
Choose a master's in science or engineering, or the PhD, and submit the admission application at least two weeks before the fellowship deadline. Seven working days after you receive your student ID, create a Banner Self-Service account. Submit the online fellowship application in one of the two cycles. For questions write to [email protected].
Submitted at least two weeks before the fellowship deadline. You do not have to wait for the admission decision.
Through Banner Self-Service, in one of the two fall 2027 cycles.
Financial need is a condition, and you explain it in the fellowship application.
For PhD applicants, linked to the research priority areas.
As in any graduate admission application at AUC.
Graduate services, fellowship questions: [email protected]
Egypt
No official contact email published
Same funding type and level, from the same directory.
Differs: also in United Kingdom, no university offer needed first, asks for 80%
Differs: also in United Kingdom, no university offer needed first, has a return condition
Differs: also in Switzerland