Shanghai Government Scholarship 2027/2028
Differs: also in China
American University of Sharjah in the UAE · Application cycle 2027/2028
Competitive teaching and research assistantships for new master's and PhD students at the American University of Sharjah. A master's assistantship gives a tuition waiver and/or a stipend. A full PhD assistantship gives a full tuition waiver for the degree and a monthly stipend; AUS also awards partial ones.
Covers for master's students: a waiver of tuition for up to 9 credit hours per semester, and/or a stipend of up to AED 20,000 per semester, depending on the type of assistantship. Covers for a full PhD assistantship: a full tuition waiver for the degree requirements and a monthly stipend. AUS also awards partial ones. The stipend amount is not stated and is set in the contract. Full-time assistants with 6 or more waived credits get a 50 percent discount on residence hall fees, if rooms are available. Does not cover: activity fees, dormitory fees, health insurance and other fees. Length: up to 4 semesters for master's students and up to 4 years for PhD students. The award is renewed each semester for master's and each year for PhD. Master's programmes in the College of Architecture, Art and Design, the College of Arts and Sciences and the School of Business Administration mainly offer smaller assistantships than the full ones.
A new master's or PhD student admitted in good standing. Students admitted on conditional or probationary status are not eligible A graduate cumulative GPA of at least 3.25 must be kept, and some programmes ask for more Full-time assistants register for 9 credit hours and part-time assistants for 6. Assistants work up to 20 hours a week. PhD assistants register for at least 6 credit hours each semester The AUS funding page invites students to apply for aid regardless of national origin. The page does not name Palestine
Language test not mentioned
The English requirement of your programme applies. The assistantship pages do not state scores.
Admission included in application?University admissionA university’s offer of a place in a program. University admission and scholarship funding may be separate decisions.
Read in the glossary
Apply for graduate admission and mark the box asking for consideration for an assistantship. Master's applications for Fall 2027 open on 19 October 2026. The deadline for Fall 2027 applicants who want an assistantship is 27 May 2027, and file completion is 17 June 2027. Applicants without an assistantship have until 22 July 2027. The page says these dates are tentative and may change. These Fall 2027 dates are from the master's page. AUS has not yet published Fall 2027 dates for PhD applicants (the Spring 2027 PhD portal has been open since 12 October 2026). For a Spring 2027 start, master's applications open on 19 October 2026 (PhD applications opened on 12 October 2026) and the assistantship deadline is 19 November 2026. This listing is written for Fall 2027. After your admission letter, your programme coordinator or department head emails the assistantship decision. A contract is issued at the start of each semester, and the Provost approves the awards. The closing time of day is not stated.
Graduate admission application with the assistantship box marked Transcripts Two reference letters for master's assistantship applicants (PhD admission asks for three) PhD assistantship form, for PhD applicants (not on the assistantships page today)
Choose a master's or PhD programme at the American University of Sharjah. Submit the admission application with the assistantship box marked, the transcripts and the reference letters, before 27 May 2027 (master's; check the doctoral page for PhD). If you apply for a PhD, ask the Office of Graduate Studies for the special assistantship form. Wait for the admission letter, then the assistantship decision from the programme coordinator.
You mark the box asking for consideration for an assistantship and answer the related questions.
Sent to the Office of Enrollment Management before the deadline.
Two letters for master's assistantship applicants. PhD admission asks for three, but the assistantship page says two.
AUS policy says PhD applicants need a special assistantship form, but it is not on the assistantships page today. Ask [email protected].
Office of Graduate Studies: [email protected]
United Arab Emirates
No official contact email published
Same funding type and level, from the same directory.
Differs: also in China
Differs: also in Canada, Through a nomination
Differs: also in Australia