Erasmus Mundus Joint Masters Scholarships 2027/2028
Differs: also in Austria, Straight to the provider
University of Bonn, Bonn Graduate School of Economics (BGSE) · Application cycle 2027/2028
A combined programme in English at the University of Bonn in Germany: a two year MSc in Economic Research followed by a three year doctorate. The school says all students in its doctoral programme get a monthly grant from the start, and there are no tuition fees.
Covers: a tax-free monthly grant of EUR 1,610 from 1 October 2027, for up to five years for students who meet the progress rules. The University of Bonn charges no tuition fees. There is also EUR 400 a month for a first child, and travel money for conferences in the doctoral phase when your paper is accepted and your supervisor supports it. From the second year you can work as a teaching or research assistant for up to EUR 600 a month. Does not cover: health insurance, which students arrange themselves, or the university semester fee, which was EUR 363.07 in winter semester 2026/2027. In the doctoral phase you are offered a grant or a work contract for three more years.
Open to all nationalities. The pages set no nationality limit A bachelor's or master's degree in economics or a related field, such as mathematics, statistics, business administration, accounting or finance The programme looks for students in the top 10 percent of their cohort You can apply before you finish your degree if you finish it before the programme starts There is no direct entry to the doctoral phase, even with a master's degree
Language test required TOEFL iBT IELTS Cambridge English Waiver not mentioned
IELTS Academic 7.0 overall, with at least 6.5 in reading, listening and speaking and 7.0 in writing. TOEFL iBT taken before 21 January 2026: at least 100 with 23 in each section. Taken on or after 21 January 2026: 5.0 overall with at least 4.5 in speaking and writing. Or the Cambridge C1 Advanced certificate. No test is needed if English is your first language or your previous degree was taught only in English, with proof.
Admission included in application?University admissionA university’s offer of a place in a program. University admission and scholarship funding may be separate decisions.
Read in the glossary
There is no separate grant application. You apply for the programme only, and the school offers the grant with admission. The funding page also lists other funding sources for applicants who are not offered a grant. Applications are made once a year through the University of Bonn portal, from 15 November to 15 January. The apply page says this year's round has ended and the next round is expected to begin in mid-November. The deadline for the October start is 15 January of the same year. The time is not stated. The pages do not name the year of the next round or intake, but they give the grant amount from October 2027. Incomplete applications are not considered, including when recommendation letters arrive after the deadline. The programme starts in October only. The result date is not stated.
Statement of academic purpose CV At least two letters of recommendation, and an optional third GRE score report English test result, or proof that you do not need one Transcripts and degree certificates, with certified translations if not in English or German APS certificate, if your most recent degree is from China, India or Vietnam
Take the GRE and the English test early so the scores arrive before the 15 January deadline. Ask your professors to be ready for the recommendation letters. They get the upload link after you submit. Apply through the University of Bonn portal when it opens in mid-November, before 15 January. Send questions to [email protected].
Required from all applicants. The minimum quantitative score is 160, and applicants below it are not eligible. ETS sends the scores to code 1359.
At least one from a professor who taught you in your BA or MA. Referees get an upload link by email after you submit.
Your academic background, research interests and goals, and how they fit the faculty. There is no length limit.
TOEFL iBT, IELTS Academic or a Cambridge C1 certificate, unless English is your first language or your previous degree was taught only in English.
Documents not in English or German need a certified translation.
Needed if your most recent degree is from China, India or Vietnam. You can apply with your APS application form and send the certificate later, but you cannot enrol without it.
Bonn Graduate School of Economics office: [email protected]
Germany
No official contact email published
Same funding type and level, from the same directory.
Differs: also in Austria, Straight to the provider
Differs: asks for 24 months of work, Straight to the provider
Differs: no university offer needed first, asks for 80%, has a return condition