Durham Palestine Educational Trust with Durham University · Application cycle 2027/2028
Durham Palestine Educational Trust (DPET) Scholarship 2027/2028
Read in the glossary
About this scholarship
The Durham Palestine Educational Trust is a UK charity, independent of Durham University, that funds graduates from the West Bank and Gaza to take a one-year taught master's degree at Durham University. Durham University awards a tuition fee scholarship and the Trust pays for accommodation, living costs, travel and the visa. For entry in October 2026 the Trust hoped to offer four scholarships. The 2027/28 round has not yet been announced, although the Trust's website refers to master's scholarship applications in 2027.
Funding type
Tuition fee scholarship awarded by Durham University Maintenance scholarship from the Trust for accommodation and living expenses Travel to the UK Other necessary expenses such as the UK visa No accommodation or support for a spouse or children The Trust puts its share (living costs, travel etc.) at about GBP 13,000 per student
- Tuition fees
- Covered
- Living costs
- Covered
- Travel
- Covered
- Insurance
- Not specified
Eligibility requirements
- Nationalities
- Listed nationalities only — Palestinian Territories
- Residence condition
- Must live in listed countries — Palestinian Territories
A completed degree from a university in the West Bank or Gaza (for the 2026 round, completed before July 2025) A cumulative GPA of at least 80% (or 3.0 or B) in your first degree An English language certificate acceptable to your chosen Durham course An online application to Durham University with a conditional or unconditional offer, with any conditions met before the scholarship deadline Active in student or community life Living in the West Bank or Gaza (including Jerusalem) and belonging to a family normally resident there Unable to fund study abroad through your immediate family Able to live in the UK for 12 months as a single person Not eligible if you have already taken a master's course or studied (other than short courses) at a university outside the West Bank or Gaza Any Durham taught master's except the MBA Scholars must return to the West Bank or Gaza at the end of the course
- Minimum grade
- 80% or the same in another scale
- Work experience asked for
- Not stated
- Return condition
- Return home after the award
- How to apply
- Straight to the provider
Language requirements and exemptions
Language test required IELTS 6.5 Cambridge English PTE Academic Other test No waiver
An acceptable English certificate is mandatory; applications without one are not accepted. IELTS (Academic) is preferred and must meet the score your course requires: most Durham courses ask for 6.5 overall with at least 6.0 in each component, and some ask for 7.0. In the 2026 round the certificate had to be awarded after 01 October 2023. The Trust notes that TOEFL is no longer accepted for UK visa applications; some other tests (e.g. Cambridge, Pearson, Trinity College London) may be acceptable, so email the Trust to check. The Trust also offers a few IELTS fee scholarships (at least five in 2026) for eligible candidates who cannot afford the test.
University admission details
Required before applying?University admissionA university’s offer of a place in a program. University admission and scholarship funding may be separate decisions.
Read in the glossary
You must apply online for a taught master's at Durham University as soon as possible after 01 January and hold a conditional or unconditional offer, with any conditions (such as IELTS scores) met before the 30 March scholarship deadline. In the university application, give the DPET scholarship as your source of funding and choose Ustinov College as your only college preference. Durham University Business School charges a GBP 50 application fee; the Trust advises asking to defer it and will arrange payment if you are shortlisted. The MBA is excluded.
Required documents
DPET master's application form (MS Word), completed on screen English language certificate (usually IELTS Academic); enter the scores on the form, a scan is requested later If shortlisted: original or certified copies of your degree transcript, degree certificate and English certificate (in English); do not send them until asked If shortlisted: referee reports, requested by the Trust If selected: a signed statement accepting the scholarship conditions
Application steps
Apply online to Durham University for a taught master's and obtain an offer Read the Advice to Applicants page and the marking system on page 7 of the form before filling it in Download the application form (in the 2026 round it was available from 01 December 2025) Email the completed form as an attachment to [email protected]; late applications or those sent any other way are not accepted The 2026 round accepted applications between 01 January and 30 March 2026; 2027/28 dates are not yet announced, but similar timing is expected You should receive an acknowledgement and a reference number; email the Trust if there is no reply within 5 days Shortlisting (6-8 candidates) in April, selection in April-May, offers in May-June, travel to Durham in late September
Requirement checklist
Offer of admission from Durham University Required
Apply online for a taught master's (not the MBA) and hold a conditional or unconditional offer, with its conditions met before the scholarship deadline.
DPET master's scholarship application form Required
Complete the MS Word form on screen and email it as an attachment to [email protected] within the application window.
English language certificate Required
Usually IELTS (Academic) at the score your course requires; enter the scores on the form. A scan is requested later.
Degree transcript and degree certificate Conditional?Conditional offerAn offer that requires specified conditions, such as a language result or graduation document, before admission becomes final.
Read in the glossary
Only if shortlisted: original or certified copies in English. Do not send them until asked.
Referee reports Conditional?Conditional offerAn offer that requires specified conditions, such as a language result or graduation document, before admission becomes final.
Read in the glossary
Requested by the Trust for shortlisted candidates.
Statement accepting the scholarship conditions Conditional?Conditional offerAn offer that requires specified conditions, such as a language result or graduation document, before admission becomes final.
Read in the glossary
Required from selected candidates, including the commitment to return to the West Bank or Gaza after the course.
IELTS fee scholarship application Optional
For eligible candidates who cannot afford the test. The 2026 round (deadline 23 February 2026) paid for an IELTS test in November 2026 so recipients can apply for the 2027 master's scholarships.
Scholarship contacts
Durham Palestine Educational Trust (applications and enquiries): [email protected] · Contact form (opens in a new tab)
Universities and contacts
Durham University
United Kingdom
No official contact email published
Similar scholarships
Same funding type and level, from the same directory.
Goldsmiths Palestinian Scholarship 2027/2028
Dr Mai Yamani Scholarship at SOAS 2027/2028
Differs: no university offer needed first