HBKU Graduate Scholarships 2027/2028
Differs: closes 2027-02-01, no university offer needed first, With the admission application
Doha Institute for Graduate Studies in Qatar · Application cycle 2027/2028
Scholarships for PhD students at the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies, starting in fall 2027, with study in Arabic. The programmes open for fall 2027 are Political Science and International Relations, Media Studies, and Sociology.
Covers: usually tuition and housing at the Institute, fees for some academic services, and the financial allocations during the dissertation stage. It is given in three phases: two semesters of courses, then one year for the dissertation prospectus if your first phase GPA is at least 3.5, then two years of dissertation writing after you pass the comprehensive exam, with an extension possible on request. Holders of a full scholarship work for the Institute in research, teaching or other tasks for at least 10 hours a week during the semester. For smaller grants the hours depend on the grant's value, up to 15 hours a week. Without a scholarship the fee is QAR 7,000 per credit hour, about QAR 420,000 for the whole programme of 60 credit hours. The amount of the financial allocations is not stated.
No restriction on nationality. The Institute takes students from Qatar, the Arab world and beyond A bachelor's in the field or a related field with a GPA of at least 3.20, and a master's with at least 3.50 out of 4.00 or equivalent, from a university recognised by the Qatari Ministry of Education Your bachelor's and master's must have been studied as a regular student Able to study and do research in Arabic, with knowledge of English The first phase grant is for students who cannot afford the cost of the PhD and have no other scholarship It cannot be combined with another scholarship without approval from the Doctoral Studies Board
Language test required IELTS TOEFL iBT Duolingo English Test Waiver possible
Arabic is the language of study and research. English: IELTS Academic 6.5, or TOEFL iBT 79 for tests taken before 21 January 2026 or 4.5 for tests from that date, or Duolingo 120. The test must be valid when you apply. You are exempt if your bachelor's or master's is from a university in the US, UK, Canada or Australia, or from another English-medium university and you send an official letter saying so.
Required before applying?University admissionA university’s offer of a place in a program. University admission and scholarship funding may be separate decisions.
Read in the glossary
Applications open on 1 September 2026 and close on 15 January 2027. The time is not stated. You apply online only, with one application per person. The programmes interview the applicants who pass the first review. After admission decisions, the Admissions Office sends the scholarship form link to all admitted students. The admissions and scholarships committee reviews the forms and takes financial need into account. Admission results come in April, and study starts in fall 2027. Not open for fall 2027: History, Arabic Linguistics and Lexicography, Critical Security Studies, Public Administration, and Development Economics.
Passport Certified copies of bachelor's and master's certificates and transcripts English test result Master's thesis, capstone project or a research sample Statement of interest of 750 to 1,000 words Preliminary PhD proposal of 2,000 words Three recommendation letters and a CV
Choose one of the three programmes open for fall 2027. You may contact a professor at the Institute for initial agreement to supervise you. Create an account on the admission system, upload the documents and request the recommendation letters through the same system. Submit before 15 January 2027. If you are admitted, fill in the scholarship form the Admissions Office sends you and attach your family income documents.
One application only across the Institute, with all documents uploaded.
750 to 1,000 words on your motives, background and plans.
About 2,000 words setting out your research interests.
A copy of your master's thesis, capstone project or a research sample.
Referees send them directly through the admission system.
The Admissions Office sends the link to admitted students. It asks for family income and spending, with documents.
Doha Institute Admissions Office: [email protected]
Qatar
No official contact email published
Same funding type and level, from the same directory.
Differs: closes 2027-02-01, no university offer needed first, With the admission application
Differs: also in China, no university offer needed first
Differs: also in Canada, no university offer needed first, Through a nomination