Concordia University in Montreal, Canada · Application cycle 2027/2028
Concordia International Tuition Award of Excellence for Doctoral Students
Read in the glossary
About this scholarship
A tuition award that Concordia University in Montreal gives to every new international doctoral student it admits, unless an outside agency already pays the fees. It brings tuition down to the rate Quebec students pay.
Funding type
Covers: the difference between international and Quebec doctoral tuition. Concordia values it at about CAD 47,463, and the page does not say how many years this amount covers. Does not cover: tuition at the regular Quebec rate, other fees, and the yearly health insurance for foreign students. It is a reduction on your account, not a cash payment. Your account is adjusted five working days after the DNE (course drop) date of each term, once your full-time registration is confirmed.
- Tuition fees
- Partially covered
- Living costs
- Not specified
- Travel
- Not specified
- Insurance
- Not covered
Eligibility requirements
- Nationalities
- All nationalities
- Residence condition
- No residence condition
A new U.S. or international student admitted to a doctoral programme at Concordia. The page names no nationality limits You must not already have funding that brings your tuition to the Quebec rate, such as a sponsor or a government mobility award Students whose fees are paid by outside agencies do not receive it
- Minimum grade
- Not stated
- Work experience asked for
- Not stated
- Return condition
- Return condition not stated
- How to apply
- With the admission application
Language requirements and exemptions
Language test required IELTS TOEFL iBT Duolingo English Test PTE Academic Cambridge English Other test Waiver possible
The rules depend on the faculty and programme. In the Faculty of Arts and Science, for example, IELTS Academic 6.5 with 6.5 in each part means admission with no English courses, and 6.5 with no part under 6.0 may mean admission with English courses in some programmes. Some programmes ask for more, such as 7.5 overall for the Communication Studies PhD. TOEFL iBT, Duolingo, PTE, CAEL and Cambridge tests are also accepted. Applicants with three full years of university study in English or in French, or four years of secondary school in English, in the countries Concordia lists are exempt.
University admission details
Admission included in application?University admissionA university’s offer of a place in a program. University admission and scholarship funding may be separate decisions.
Read in the glossary
There is no separate application. Your admission application is your application for the award, and every admitted international doctoral student receives it. The deadline is the admission deadline of your doctoral programme. Deadlines vary by programme and are shown on each programme page, and some programmes accept late applications if places remain. For fall entry, for example, the international deadline is 15 January for the Communication Studies PhD and 1 March for the Computer Science PhD. Concordia advises international applicants to apply early because of the time a study permit takes. The page names no intake year.
Required documents
Doctoral admission application with the documents your programme asks for Transcripts from all your earlier studies Statement of purpose of about 600 words and a CV Three letters of reference, unless your programme asks for another number English test result if you are not exempt Some programmes also ask for a portfolio or other test scores, or ask you to find a supervisor before you apply
Application steps
Choose a doctoral programme and check its deadline and admission requirements. Contact the Graduate Program Director if you have questions before applying. Apply for admission before the programme deadline and pay the CAD 103 application fee. There is no separate award form. Register full time each term so the reduction is applied to your account.
Requirement checklist
Application to a doctoral programme Required
Your admission application is your application for the award. There is no separate form.
Statement of purpose, CV and references Required
A statement of purpose of about 600 words, a CV and three letters of reference, unless your programme asks for something else.
English test result Conditional?Conditional offerAn offer that requires specified conditions, such as a language result or graduation document, before admission becomes final.
Read in the glossary
Unless you completed three full years of university study in English or in French, or four years of secondary school in English, in the countries listed by Concordia.
Full-time registration Required
Your account is adjusted each term once your full-time registration is confirmed.
Scholarship contacts
Graduate funding advisors, School of Graduate Studies: Contact form (opens in a new tab)
Universities and contacts
Concordia University
Canada
No official contact email published
Similar scholarships
Same funding type and level, from the same directory.
P.E.O. International Peace Scholarship for Women's Graduate Study in Canada 2027/2028
Differs: closes 2026-12-15, no university offer needed first, has a return condition
Swiss Government Excellence Scholarships 2027/2028
Differs: also in Switzerland, no university offer needed first, Straight to the provider